Skip to content

FUNdraising 101: The basics

February 23, 2010

When I first signed up for Team in Training I was really intimidated about the fundraising goals. Something I made very clear at the info meeting I attended, and something the coordinators and I now laugh about it. Don’t let it discourage you. Team in Training has it down to a science. Even if you are a skeptic, let me tell you from one skeptic to another it’s pretty painless.
1. Letter writing: In the age of the internet you may think who heck writes letters. Serious fundraisers, that’s who! It may seem crazy to write letters, but letters have a personal touch that emails do not. It only takes a few seconds to skim yet another an email, but a letter in a hand addressed envelope gets you some more time. Make sure when you write your letter you make it personal, use the form letter to help get you started but make it your own. If you’re goofy and funny all the time sending a serious letter is not as genuine. Be sure to include information about your race, why you’re running, and your honored team mate. Also most importantly do not forgot to let them know how to donate. Include a link to your website, and who to make the check out to and where to send it. Lastly include as self addressed stamped envelope so all your donors need to do is write a check.

2. Your fundraising page: That page is your playground! Don’t leave it set up as is, again like your letters make it your own. Add a picture of you at another race you did, or you on the couch with a big NO sign over it. Post weekly updates to your blog such as:

“I survived my second week of running. On Saturday I ran/crawled 3 miles. I really earned that egg sandwich after!”

Better yet set up a blog like I did. Anything you can do to get people emotionally invested in your efforts will help you. I’m a starter, not a finisher generally speaking. I had a friend tell me that by reading my blog and seeing that I was actually doing the training made him realize I was serious about Team in Training.

There are many free blog services that you can use, and your blog doesn’t have to be fancy. Don’t forget to include the link in your letters and on your fundraising page.

Soon after you get your letters out and your page up those donations will start rolling in faster than you think.

My first event I raised $4,230

Heres where it came from:

$960 Letters & Emails

$1,158.81 Facebook

$ 1386.19 Events

$725 Word of Mouth

Crazy right? All of those Facebook donations came in through my fundraising site!

Get fundraising!

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 12, 2010 1:49 am

    Thanks for posting this. I’m in the middle of my fundraising campaign. I’m always looking for good/new ideas. Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

