Skip to content

Three Things Thursday

March 11, 2010

1. I turned down a permanent position at my job this week. It was so hard to make this decsion, since my boss is amazing. However it would be different from what I do now, it will still be retail, I would have to work one weekend day (which conflicts with my training schedule), it’s not enough money. The money part is not to sound greedy or whatever, but I can’t get caught in a vicious cycle of low paying jobs. Kuma and I need to get this show on the road, since we’re not getting any younger ( Say hello to officially entering the late 20’s!) Plus I’d like to seriously be able to think about buying a house sometime soon.

I did find another job listing at the hospital which is ideal money, Monday through Friday, and may even pay for some tuition (Wait, see thing number 2!) But I discovered it yesterday and it closed today, so I spent my whole free portion of last night and today writing a cover letter and finishing my resume. How stressful! I’ve never had to write a cover letter ever! I was a florist for 10 years! No one in that business cares about resumes and cover letters!

I am so grateful to Emily and my boss for helping me out with them. Yes, I said my boss. She is that awesome and understanding.

2. I’ve decided to apply to graduate school. There is a MA in public policy at my school and I met with the department about the program and I have a really good opportunity on my hands. I’d better get on that ASAP!

3. After this crazy day today, and this nasty shin splint in my legs, I’m being a bum and not running. Instead I’m drinking a Red Stripe and cooking a roast beef, for Philly cheese steaks. I’m sure I’ll regret this decision on Saturday’s 7 miler, in what is supposed to be very windy and rainy. Awesome!

I also just noticed in my Google reader how many Three Things Thursday posts there are! Enjoy them!

P.S. I see there’s lots of you reading, but there’s no comments 😉

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 13, 2010 2:41 pm

    aww! Thanks for tagging me in your post! So thoughtful!!! Happy Weeked-ing!

Leave a Reply

